Skip to main content

SOC 205 Race & Ethnic Relations

Use this research guide to locate print and electronic resources for information on the acculturation of specific ethnic groups in the United States.

Print Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A Great Place to Begin Your Research

 Use the Gale Virtual Reference Lilbrary to search online encyclopedias for background information on  Food, History, Immigration Waves, Acculturation and Assimilation, Language, Family and Community Dynamics, Religion, Employment and Economic Traditions, and Politics and Government. The following encyclopedias are recommended for this project:

How to Search for Information on Race and Ethnic Relations in the GVRL

You can search for information within a selected encyclopedia individually by using the side bar and selecting subjects multicultural studies or social sciences. This will find online encyclopedias on that subject.

For instance by clicking on Multicultural Studies you can search within the  Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life for a particular country. You can  search within The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism for a specific ethnic group like Brazilian Americans.

You can also search all encyclopedias at once by using the search box at the top of the page. This will retrieve all articles on the topic from all the various encyclopedias in GVRL. For instance, you can search for the term socialization and it will retrieve all the articles appearing in the encyclopedias. Perhaps, a better way to search for articles is by your country of origin such as Brazil. It will retrieve articles from International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Countries and their Cultures, etc.