Skip to main content

SOC 205 Race & Ethnic Relations

Use this research guide to locate print and electronic resources for information on the acculturation of specific ethnic groups in the United States.

Using the Databases to locate articles

These databases will retrieve articles on more specific aspects of the socialization process of another country with the socialization process in the United States. You can find information on children, family structure, cultural norms, occupations and income, and political and economic viability.

These are only two of the nearly forty databases available to you from the WCC Bailey Library. If you do not find what you need using these suggested databases, select another from the A to Z list from the Find e-articles and e-books link on the Library homepage.

Academic OneFile

There are two efficient ways to search this database:

  1. Do a Subject search for a country such as Brazil and then limit by subheadings such as Social Aspects, Education, Religious Aspects,or Economic Aspects, etc. The search will first display academic journal articles. Select Magazines and Newpapers under Content Types to retrieve articles from those types of periodicals. Refine results to documents with full text by checking the box.
  2. Do an Advanced search using the tab and entering keywords such as Brazilian or Chinese or Mexican Americans and on the next line keyword culture to retrieve articles. The default will also be to academic journals. Select magazines or newspapers under Content Types. Refine your results to full text articles by checking the box.

To search the database click on the link below. If you are off campus, you will need to authenticate that you are a WCC student by entering your NetId (what you use to get into Blackboard, email, myWCC) and then your password.

Academic Search Elite

This database allows you to build a search by using the Boolean Operations AND,OR, NOT.

Use the drop down menu to search by subject SU. If you do not know whether the database recognizes your search terms as a subject leave the search box at TX all text and it will perform a key word search.

For example, you can search SU Brazilians and on the next line enter health to retrieve articles on the health of this ethnicity.