Research Guides: ENG 090: ENG 090 Library Research

English 090 Student Research Activity

ENG 090 In-Class Activity
In-class finding newspaper articles activity.
Self-Guided Finding Newspaper Articles Handout
Step-by-step instructions that guide you through finding a newspaper article in a library database.

Step One: Choose a Topic

A. Think of a current news event that you'd like to know more about.

B. Brainstorm keywords and phrases that could be used as search terms to help you find information. Is there a sub-topic that could help make your search more specific?

TOPIC

SUB-TOPICS

wildfire

wildfires

forest fires

forest fire control

smoke

air quality

wildlife

smoke jumpers

smokejumpers

evacuation

climate change

drought

Newspaper Databases

The Bailey Library provides online access to credible articles and books through library databases. Using databases saves time and provide access to content that is not available freely on the web.

News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, including the New York Times, dated from 1980.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from 1985
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Need a topic?

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, newspaper and magazines articles on social issues.

Finding Articles - Tutorials and Additional Tips

Check out the following guides for more information on how to find articles through the library:

ENG 090

Reference Librarian

English 090 Student Research Activity

Step One: Choose a Topic

Newspaper Databases

Finding Articles - Tutorials and Additional Tips

Citing Sources