Research Guides: Business: Business Law

Business Law: Topic Overviews

Law in Business
Law governs and regulates virtually all aspects of the business process, from the right to engage in a business or trade, to the legal form of a business, to agreements for buying and selling merchandise or rendering services.
Ethics in Law for Business
This article deals with ethical problems in law in the context of business operations.

American Law Association - Business Law Section
Search the Business Law Content Library for news, reports, and information about business law and legislation.
Global Legal Monitor
A Library of Congress database for international legal information. Search by country or legal topic.
Law.com Dictionary
The People's Law Dictionary by Gerald and Kathleen Hill - Search Legal Terms and Definitions
Legal Information Institute
A wealth of information from a Cornell University nonprofit "that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost."
Wex - Free Legal Dictionary from Cornell
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Legal Trac This link opens in a new window
Find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. Included are articles on federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation. Also included are British Commonwealth, European Union, and International Law
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles on all subjects from 1994 to the present.

Business Law Today
"Business Law Today" is the monthly news magazine for the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association (ABA). Full text articles are available from the current issue, as well as the archives.