Photography

Art Photo Index (API) is a visual index of important art and documentary photographers, their images and their websites from throughout the world.

Explore the George Eastman Museum's collections online. More than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable, and more of the museum's vast holdings will be added on an ongoing basis.

Use the Search Portal to find images/photos that are licensed under Creative Commons.
The Creative Commons is a non-profit organization that "provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry..

Search for the item you are looking for
Where it says “Any license” click the drop-down menu and select “Modifications Allowed”
Your search results will now include only CC licensed content you can use.

Getty Images Holdings, Inc. (stylized as gettyimages) is a visual media company and supplier of stock images, editorial photography, video, and music for business and consumers, with a library of over 477 million assets

Search for the material you want
Click Tools
Under “Usage Rights” select “Creative Commons Licenses” in the drop down menu, then your searches will yield openly licensed images.

Explore Artists, Items by Location, Media, Genre, Year.

Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College Chicago (MoCP) is a premier college art museum dedicated to photography. As an accredited art museum with the American Alliance of Museums, MoCP is a renowned photography specific institution whose mission is to generate ideas and provoke dialogue through groundbreaking exhibitions, innovative programs, and experiential events to cultivate a deeper understanding of the artistic, cultural, and political roles of photography in our world today.

Search millions of historic photos
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Celebrating 30 Years of Service to the Photographic Community 1993-2023

Enter the gallery to search by artist, keyword, or title

Free stock photos, illustrations, vector graphics, videos, music and sounds effects, shared and enjoyed by one of the largest creator communities in the world.

Unsplash is a large collection of photos that can be downloaded and used for free. They are licensed under the Unsplash License, which is similar to CC0 (Public Domain) in that it allows users to use photos for free, for personal or commercial purposes, without attribution.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Explore thousands of photographs in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—including books, writings, reference materials, and other resources. Look for Columbia College Chicago photography faculty work -- past and present -- here as well.

The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible

The photography collection at the George Eastman Museum, among the oldest and best in the world, comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day.

The International Center of Photography is the world’s leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Go to Explore to search Artists or Item Media type Photograph

Digital Images of Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

The Met Collection
Travel around the world and across 5,000 years of history through 490,000+ works of art.

"The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) began collecting modern photography in 1930 and established the department in 1940. The Museum's holdings of more than 25,000 works constitute one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world. As diverse as photography itself, the collection includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.

Free open access image downloads are now available directly from the object pages located on this website. Over 50,000 images are available for download, and we will continue to add more images for free access as more works are photographed and as works of art enter the public domain.

Thousands of photographs and other images depicting historic American culture, events and daily life.

The Institute is a thriving center of advanced research and graduate teaching in art history, archaeology, and art conservation

This Gallery is meant to be a landing page for interested researchers to explore some of the many digitized collections held at the Smithsonian. You can explore by Arts & Design, History & Culture, or by individual Smithsonian repositories and museums.