Research Guides: HSC 147 Human Growth and Development: WCC Research Databases

Where to Search for Articles

Where to start searching for peer-reviewed articles for your HSC 147 Assignment.

Once you have identified your human growth and development and population, you are ready to start searching.

Begin your research with CINAHL Ultimate.

Begin by watching the CINAHL Ultimate Video below

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals including dental, radiography, physical therapy, pharmacy technology, and other allied health fields.

WCC Research Databases

Databases A to Z
Complete list of research databases available at WCC Library listed alphabetically.
Databases by Subject
Complete list of research databases available at WCC Library arranged by subject content.

Research Databases to use for Health Sciences

Highly recommended research databases to locate journal articles for the health sciences.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
An open-access, peer-reviewed e-journal collection providing the content of over 300 journals in science, technology and medicine.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals including dental, radiography, physical therapy, pharmacy technology, and other allied health fields.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Start with the Browse Topics for background information about any health and wellness topic. Find magazine and newspaper articles and reference book information on topics such as fitness, nutrition, disease and illness, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs and so much more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed, magazines, and newspaper articles on all aspects of medicine, allied health, nursing, health and nutrition.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Based on clinical evidence, this is a point-of-care resource for nursing practitioners on medical conditions, diseases, procedures, patient care, FDA, clinical and drug updates.
PubMed@WCC This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in WCC electronic journals, PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of biomedical and life science journals at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Helpful Handouts on How to Search Specific Databases

PubMed Help

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Gale Health and Wellness Center