Research Guides: Physical Therapist Assistant: Search for Information

Brainstorm your Research Topic

Terminology in CINAHL for mind body alternative options in physical therapy using the article "A Mind-Body Program for Older Adults With Chronic Low Back Pain: A Randomized Clinical Trial"

mind body

mind-body

mind body programs

mind body techniques

mind body techniques methods

mind body interventions

AND

chronic low back pain

lower back pain

back pain

AND

elderly

senior

old age

+65 years

Convert your PICO Question into Search Concepts

Sample question:

For adults with low back pain (patient), do spinal stabilization exercises (intervention) reduce pain and increase function (outcome) more effectively than manual therapy (comparison)?

The PICO parts with keywords for this question would look like this:

Parts of the Question	Clinical Scenario	Key terms
P Patient Population	adults with low back pain
I Intervention	spinal stabilization exercises
Comparison (if any)	manual therapy
Outcome	reduce pain and increase function
Types of Study

Class Research Activity

PTA 100 Class Research Activity
Open the document to type your answers.

Inspiratory Muscle Training in Rehabilitation of Low Back Pain: A Randomized Controlled Trial
Ahmadnezhad, L., Yalfani, A., & Gholami Borujeni, B. (2020). Inspiratory Muscle Training in Rehabilitation of Low Back Pain: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Journal of sport rehabilitation, 29(8), 1151–1158. https://doi.org/10.1123/jsr.2019-0231

CINAHL Complete Basic Search

Watch CINAHL Complete Basic Search 00:03:17 minutes

CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.

CINAHL Complete Advanced Searching

Watch CINAHL Advanced Search 00:03:45 minutes

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.

Best Research Databases

Watch How to Access CINAHL Complete 00:01:04 minutes

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals including dental, radiography, physical therapy, pharmacy technology, and other allied health fields.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative content in physical therapy and sports medicine relevant to researchers and practitioners.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of biomedical and life science journals at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

PubMed
From the National Library of Medicine

Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG)

Evidence Based Medicine Web Sites

Evidence based information on the Web.

AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Data, Statistics and Tools
A wealth of information both for evidence based medicine and other data. Information includes: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), State Snapshots, Filling the Information Needs for Healthcare Reform, U.S. Health Information Knowledgebase (USHIK), and much more.
APTA - American Physical Therapy Association
These CPGs are based on a systematic review of the evidence and published by APTA sections, or by other health care associations, organizations, and societies, not by individuals.
BestBets
BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
Cochrane Reviews
An international network of professionals providing systematic reviews of primary research. This website provides abstracts and summaries of reviews only, not full-text.
more...less...
WCC is not a subscribing member of the Cochrane Reviews.
Essential Evidence Plus (EE+)
This is by Wiley Medical Sciences. You may find useful information on this site.
Joanna Briggs institute
An International not-for-profit Research and Development Organization specializing in Evidence-Based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The NGC is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The database includes structured abstracts, links to full-text guidelines (where available), ordering information for print copies, and a guideline comparison utility.

Print and Ejournal Subscriptions at WCC

Print journal subscriptions at the Library that are indexed in the databases:

Physical Therapy
PT: Magazine of Physical Therapy