Genetics

The Scientist is the magazine for life science professionals—a publication dedicated to covering a wide range of topics central to the study of cell and molecular biology, genetics, and other life-science fields.

"The Society is a National, voluntary health organization dedicated to improving the lives of people with Huntington's disease and their families.

To promote and support research and medical efforts to eradicate Huntington's Disease."

"Little People of America (LPA) is a nonprofit organization that provides support and information to people of short stature and their families."

"MDA is the world’s leading nonprofit health organization sponsoring research seeking the causes of and effective treatments for neuromuscular diseases. MDA research grants currently are supporting more than 250 projects worldwide."

"The National Down Syndrome Society envisions a world in which all people with Down syndrome have the opportunity to enhance their quality of life, realize their life aspirations and become valued members of welcoming communities."

"The National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF) is the leading/largest/only national nonprofit organization dedicated to finding better treatments and cures for inheritable bleeding disorders and to preventing the complications of these disorders through education, advocacy and research."

•Provides information and support regarding albinism and related conditions.
•Promotes public and professional education about these conditions

"National Tay-Sachs & Allied Diseases Association of Delaware Valley is a non-profit voluntary health agency dedicated to the prevention and ultimate elimination of Tay-Sachs disease, Canavan disease and related lysomal storage diseases (the allied diseases)."

"To advocate for and enhance our membership's ability to improve the quality of health, life and services for individuals, families and communities affected by sickle cell disease and related conditions, while promoting the search for a cure for all people in the world with sickle cell disease."

"Turner Syndrome Society of the United States (TSSUS) is a national non-profit 501 (c) (3) EIN# 41-1596910 organization that provides health-related resources to patients, families and physicians for the diagnosis and treatment of Turner syndrome."

Learn About Lung Cancer--risk factors, prevention & treatment. It offers answers to questions about the disease and treatment options for small cell and non cell lung cancer. Other Information Sources enables you to browse other websites and books on cancer.

Entrez is a retrieval system produced by NCBI for searching several linked databases including:
◦PubMed
◦GenBank, a nucleotide sequence database
◦Protein, sequence database
◦Structure, 3-D macromolecular structures
◦Genome, complete sequences
◦PopSet, population study data sets
◦Taxonomy, organisms in GenBank
◦Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
Pre-computed similarity searches are available for most database records producing a list of related sequences, structure neighbors, as well as related articles

Gene Gateway, originally designed as a Web companion to the popular Human Genome Landmarks poster, is a collection of guides and tutorials designed to help students and other novice users get started with some of the resources that make these data available to the public

"The Human Ageing Genomic Resources (HAGR) is a collection of databases and tools designed to help researchers study the genetics of human ageing using modern approaches such as functional genomics, network analyses, systems biology and evolutionary analyses."

Begun formally in 1990, the U.S. Human Genome Project was a 13-year effort coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health. The project originally was planned to last 15 years, but rapid technological advances accelerated the completion date to 2003

"The Michigan Genomics Initiative (MGI) is creating an institutional repository of DNA and genetic data together with a rich medical phenotype for broad portfolio of future medical research."

Gateway to information on genetics research done by the NHGRI to sequence the human genome. With the sequence complete in 2003, learn how biomedical researchers are discovering the genetic bases of disorders such as breast, colon, and prostate cancers and Huntington's and Parkinson's diseases. Includes links to research, policy, and educational resources.

"The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG), founded in 1948, is the primary professional membership organization for human genetics specialists worldwide."

"The Association of Professors was incorporated in 1995 to promote human and medical genetics educational programs of human and medical genetics in North American medical and graduate schools."

"GSA’s mission is to deepen our understanding of the living world by advancing the field of genetics."

"The International Federation of Human Genetics Societies was founded in 1996 to provide a transparent structure to facilitate communication throughout the international community of human geneticists."