Data Literacy

The U.S. Department of Commerce portal for economic data by industry, region, or county.

The BLS Web site from the U.S. Department of Labor, provides a wealth of statistical information on business and labor including financials, demographics, employment and unemployment, industries, inflation and consumer spending, international data, safety and health, wages, earnings and benefits and much, much more.

The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that American consumers data, including expenditures, income, and consumer unit characteristics.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research.

NRF is the world’s largest retail trade association. Click on "Resources" to find current consumer data, statistical reports, and buying guides.

The Southeast Michigan Council of Governments provides current statistics on the economy, transportation, housing, jobs, and land use.

Source of free data sets, many of which are public domain, from government agencies.

Google Public Data contains data sets about a variety of topics and offers the ability to explore and visualize them.

Using "Guided Search," you can find information, such as population, by zip code, among other geographic areas.

A central location within the U.S. Census Bureau website to find population reports in pdf format.

Designed by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides information on people, business, geography, special topics, newsroom information, and at the bureau topics. In addition, you can use the American FactFinder to find information on a specific city in the U.S. You have the option of searching by category or using the subject A to Z search feature.

The International Data Base (IDB) is provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. IDB is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

Regional planning partnership for Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw, and Wayne counties.

Created by the National Center for Education Statistics, this database compiles statistical information covering pre-kindergartens through graduate schools in the U.S.

The World Bank compiles data on education inputs, participation, efficiency, and outcomes.

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States.

"Worldometers shows estimated current numbers based on statistics and projections from the most reputable official organizations."

USA Live Stats shows statistics on a variety of topics.

The United States Census Bureau's resource for providing detailed social, economic, housing, and demographic statistics.

A wealth of information on asthma, chickenpox, emphysema, heart disease, leading causes of death, nursing home care, teen pregnancy, work-related injury, and much much more.

This website makes statistical information from over 100 government agencies available to those seeking that information. It is searchable by topic, state, collections, agency, agencies by subject and more.

USAFacts provides data and visualizations from government data sources.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Find statistics on media, politics, social trends, religion, and more.

Gallup.Com provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research.