Research Guides: Faculty Professional Development: Reflection

Reflection

"Reflective Teaching (RT) is a self-assessment of teaching, wherein an instructor examines their pedagogy, articulates reasons and strengths for their strategies, and identifies areas for revision or improvement. RT involves an examination both of one’s underlying beliefs about teaching and learning and their alignment with actual classroom practice, throughout a course and afterwards."

- Yale Center for Teaching and Learning

Reflective Teaching - Research Starter
This overview provides a history of the concept and practice, key theories and strategies, applications, terminology, and a bibliography for further reading.

Articles

10 Ways To Be A More Reflective Teacher - TeachThought
Reflection is a key factor in classroom effectiveness and satisfaction.
20 Teacher End of the Year Reflection Questions - Minds in Bloom
20 questions to ask yourself about your teaching at the end of the semester.
Becoming a Reflective Teacher - Marzano Research
Tangible strategies for incorporating reflective practice into your classroom.
The Gut-Level Teacher Reflection - Cult of Pedagogy
Five questions that can help you listen to your body’s emotional responses and uncover problem areas in your teaching.
Meta-Teaching: Improve Your Teaching While Improving Students’ Metacognition
Benefits of and strategies for meta-teaching, or teaching metacognitively.
The Reflective Teacher - Temple University Center for the Advancement of Teaching
Tips on building a reflective teaching practice.
The Reflective Teacher: A Taxonomy of Reflection - Peter Pappas
An adaptation of Bloom's taxonomy for reflective teaching.
The Reflective Teacher: Taking a Long Look - Edutopia
Tips for long-term reflective practices.
Reflective Teaching - Yale Center for Teaching and Learning
An overview of the topic with examples, assessment, and resources for further reading.
Tools for Reflecting on Your Teaching - University of Waterloo
Tools and strategies for collecting data about your teaching.
Wrapping Up the School Year: 5 Reflective End-of-Year Activities - Teacher's Voice
End of term reflection activities for the classroom that could be adapted for college.

Bailey Library Books

Teach, Reflect, Learn: : building your capacity for success in the classroom by Pete Hall; Alisa Simeral
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781416620136
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by Christopher Johns
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781118687239
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Chris Bulman (Editor); Sue Schutz (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781118307779
Publication Date: 2013-01-10
Becoming a Reflective Teacher by Robert J. Marzano; Tina Boogren; Tammy Heflebower; Jessica Kanold-McIntyre; Debra Pickering
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780983351238
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
Becoming a Reflective English Teacher by Andrew Green
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780335242894
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The Purposes, Practices, and Professionalism of Teacher Reflectivity: : insights for twenty-first-century teachers and students by Edward Pultorak
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781607097082
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Mindful Teaching and Teaching Mindfulness: a guide for anyone who teaches anything by Deborah Schoeberlein David; Stephen G. Viola (Foreword by); Suki Sheth
Call Number: LB1025.3 .S385 2009
ISBN: 0861715675
Publication Date: 2009-09-08
Journal Keeping by Dannelle D. Stevens; Joanne E. Cooper
Call Number: PE1404 .S827 2009
ISBN: 9781579222154
Publication Date: 2009-06-03
Becoming a Reflective Mathematics Teacher by Alice F. Artzt; Eleanor Armour-Thomas
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 0585385009
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Learning and Teaching in Higher Education by Greg Light; Roy Cox
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780761965534
Publication Date: 2001-07-23
Reflective Practice in Geography Teaching by Ashley Kent (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780761969815
Publication Date: 2001-03-19
Reflection in the Writing Classroom by Kathleen Blake Yancey
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780874212389
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher by Stephen D. Brookfield
Call Number: LB2331 .B677 1995
ISBN: 0787901318
Publication Date: 1995-10-13

Search Academic Journals

Find articles using the library's One Search, which searches across multiple databases.

Click on "More Search Options" under the One Search box on the library homepage.
Enter search terms such as:
- reflective teaching
- reflective teaching practices
- reflective teaching models
- reflective teaching AND college
- reflective teaching AND college students
- reflective teaching AND community college
- reflective teaching AND (insert discipline, such as nursing, business, science, etc.)

You can also search for education-related content in the specific databases below:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles on all subjects from 1994 to the present.