Research Guides: CJT 156: Everyday Law: Getting Started

Getting Started

This guide is designed for students of CJT 156: Everyday Law, or for those interested in researching the United States Legal System and the common legal issues that impact our daily lives.

Print Reference Resources

Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Shae Irving
Call Number: General Collection ; KF387 .N65 2020

ISBN: 9781413327748

Publication Date: 2020

Information-packed desk reference answers more than 1,000 of the most frequently asked questions about everyday legal issues. (Digital version also available.)
U. S. Supreme Court by David G. Savage
Call Number: REF KF8742 .W567 2010 V.1 and 2

ISBN: 9780872894235
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by Grossman, Mark
Call Number: REF KF4557 .G76 2017 V. 1 and 2

ISBN: 9781682171769

Digital Reference Resources

Legal Method Essentials by Dale McFadzean
ISBN: 9781845860776

Publication Date: 2014

Covers finding out what statutory interpretation and judicious precedent are, finding and using case law and legislation, and citing legal resources.

Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning
Constitutional Amendments. (2008). From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning, 2nd ed.. Detroit, MI: UXL. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. (2000). L. W. Levy & K. L. Karst (Eds.), 2nd ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law. (2011). D. Batten (Ed.), 3rd ed. Detroit, MI: Gale. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law. (2013). D. Batten (Ed.), 3rd ed. Detroit, MI: Gale. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library