Research Guides: ECD 280: The Developing Professional in Early Childhood Education/Practicum: Articles

Recommended Publications

Online:

Family Relations
From the National Council on Family Relations. Access issues from 1992 to present (though most recent year not available).
Teaching Young Children
From the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Access issues from 2010 to present.

Print:

Browsing through paper issues of professional trade journals is one way to find a trade journal article about children or child development. The photocopy machines are nearby.

Try any of the trade journals listed below. Write down the titles of the journal and the article (and the publication date), so you can find it again.

Childhood Education
Educational Leadership
Exchange
YC: Young Children
Zero To Three

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.
ERIC (MeL) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Psychology This link opens in a new window
Find information from 200 full-text periodicals in psychology.

Further Publications

Print publications available at the Library:

Exchange
Horn Book
Mailbox
Young Children
Zero to Three

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Horn Book Magazine
Horn Book Magazine is full text in Academic OneFile database. Search by publication.
YC: Young Children
YC: Young Children is full text in Education Source database. Search by publication.
Zero to Three
Zero to Three is full text in Education Source database. Search by publication.
Teaching Tolerance
Teaching Tolerance is full text in Education Source database. Search by publication.