Research Guides: ENG: Social Media: Overview

Humans are Social Media
Free eBook on how humans shape social media and how social media shapes our world.
Introduction to Social Media
Free eBook aimed at managers, business owners, marketing managers, and aspiring social media marketing interns/managers.

Tracking Social Media

Also known as social listening, these websites will help you track mentions, conversations, and people on social media.

Google Trends
Explore Google search trends over time.
Hashtagify
Search twitter hashtags to analyze use and find social media influencers.
Internet Archive
Free digital archive billions of pages of Web content.
SharedCount
Tracks Likes and Shares of specific URLs.
Social Searcher
Track social media conversations by topic, user, or mentions. Searches across multiple platforms.

Fact-Checking Social Media

Don't take their word for it! Use the following websites to fact-check social media claims.

Find Articles

Key websites and library databases for social media research. The Smart Search box below, which can also be found on the library's homepage, searches across multiple databases at once.

Use your WCC Net ID & Password to access library databases off campus.

Pew Research Center Social Media
Current, non-partisan research on social media topics.

Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, to meet the needs of researchers.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, newspaper and magazines articles on social issues.

Smart Search:

Featured Books @ Bailey Library

Writing for Social Media

Social Media: A Reference Handbook

Because Internet: understanding the new rules of language

Speech Police: the global struggle to govern the Internet

The voices of #MeToo : from grassroots activism to a viral roar

Behind the Screen: content moderation in the shadows of social media

Strategic Social Media: from marketing to social change

Find Books and eBooks

Use Smart Search to find books and ebooks in the Bailey Library:

You can also search specifically for e-books. These can be accessed directly on a computer or mobile device.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Find 70,000 electronic books in all subject areas for college-level reading and research.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive subscription collection of e-books intended to meet the content needs of students in their research, special projects, and quests.

Steaming Video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for colleges and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming videos on various topics in humanities, social sciences, sciences, health/medicine, business, economics, technical trades, guidance/counseling, etc.

Search Engine Breakdown
Why does a widely used internet search engine deliver results that can be blatantly racist and sexist? Consider how Artificial Intelligence affects results in search engines and social media.
TedTalks on Social Media
Browse a collection of TedTalks on a variety of social media topics.

ENG: Social Media

Reference Librarian

Tracking Social Media

Also known as social listening, these websites will help you track mentions, conversations, and people on social media.

Fact-Checking Social Media

Don't take their word for it! Use the following websites to fact-check social media claims.

Find Articles

Key websites and library databases for social media research. The Smart Search box below, which can also be found on the library's homepage, searches across multiple databases at once.

Use your WCC Net ID & Password to access library databases off campus.

Smart Search:

Featured Books @ Bailey Library

Writing for Social Media

Social Media: A Reference Handbook

Because Internet: understanding the new rules of language

Speech Police: the global struggle to govern the Internet

The voices of #MeToo : from grassroots activism to a viral roar

Behind the Screen: content moderation in the shadows of social media

Strategic Social Media: from marketing to social change

Find Books and eBooks

Use Smart Search to find books and ebooks in the Bailey Library:

Steaming Video

Podcasts

The Science of Social Media

Savvy Social Podcast