Research Databases - Articles - GLG 104: Weather and Lab - Research Guides at Washtenaw Community College

Browse Topics within a Database

Many databases provide a browse topics page -- Review the sections for weather related topics.

Academic OneFile is one example. See link below.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles on all subjects from 1994 to the present.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles on topics such as ecology, natural resources, renewal energy, geography, pollution, urban planning, environmental policy, law and technology.
Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
A great database for subjects about Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.

Characteristics of scholarly or peer reviewed articles:

Authors are experts in the subject field. They are authorities in that field of study. Authors are highly educated.
Articles go through a peer-review process. This is the process where the article is read by recognized researchers in the field and recommend the article for publication in the journal. They look for errors in the article/research.
Articles are usually reports on scholarly research or case studies.
Articles cite their sources at the end of the article in the Reference section.
Published monthly, quarterly, bi-annually or annually.
Journals are geared toward scholars, researchers, professionals and college students.

Some examples of scholarly or peer reviewed journals: