Michigan History

Looking for a quick overview of Michigan history? The Library of Michigan: Michigan in Brief provides key facts, timelines, and background material.

Historical and contemporary digital collections.

A collaborative project involving 52 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state.

Find non-fiction, poetry, mysteries, romance, literary fiction, children's books, and more. From the Michigan Association of Media in Education, the Library of Michigan and the Michigan Center for the Book

Michigan County Histories and Atlases Digitization Project is comprised of 428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923. The collection offers all members of the community free keyword searching and page-by-page access to digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases as a resource for historical and genealogical research.

A popular history magazine geared toward professionals and enthusiasts alike, Michigan History offers a wide variety of subject matter, time frames, and perspectives while inspiring, educating, and entertaining its readers.

A digital project of the Archives of Michigan and Michigan History Center. Family history collections, Civil War records, state government records, the River Street Anthology music preservation project, and more.

Portrays the states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century through first-person accounts, biographies, promotional literature, local histories, ethnographic and antiquarian texts, colonial archival documents, and other works drawn from the Library of Congress's General Collections and Rare Books and Special Collections Division.

Historical museum collection focused on the history of dentistry with particular interest on dental practice and technology in the United States and Michigan dating from the 18th century to today.

Virtual Motor City contains images from the Detroit News Photograph Collection, a premier photojournalistic resource that primarily documents the city of Detroit, its people, places and events from the late 19th century through the 1980s.