WTMC

Search & Destroy

Search & Destroy Instructions

Step 1: Brainstorm Search Terms

Growing Up Research Worksheet - Google Doc

Growing Up Research Worksheet - Word Doc

Brainstorm keywords and phrases that could be used as search terms to help you find information. Are there synonyms or alternate phrases that might be helpful? Example:

TOPIC: GROWING UP	SUB-TOPIC: PSYCHOLOGY
adult emerging adult young adult adulthood early adulthood transition to adulthood conception of adulthood coming of age maturity adult development	psychological aspects psychological maturity autonomy self-actualization emotional intelligence intellectual maturity impulse control

TOPIC: GROWING UP

SUB-TOPIC: PSYCHOLOGY

adult

emerging adult

young adult

adulthood

early adulthood

transition to adulthood

conception of adulthood

coming of age

maturity

adult development

psychological aspects

psychological maturity

autonomy

self-actualization

emotional intelligence

intellectual maturity

impulse control

Step 2: Browse Topic in Academic Search Complete

Use the Academic Search Complete advanced search to break your search into keywords and concepts such as "emerging adult" and "psychology."

Practice click restraint. Browse your topic by scanning titles and subject terms in the results for additional keywords to add to your list.
Change your search terms and see how your results change. Highlight the most useful terms on your worksheet!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.

Step 3: Find Articles

Once you've refined your search terms, find the most relevant articles by narrowing your database results by type of article, date, full-text, and more.
You can also try searching in a subject-specific database. Some recommendations are listed below, or you can view the full list of databases by subject using the link below.

View Full List of Databases by Subject

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Psychology This link opens in a new window
Find information from 200 full-text periodicals in psychology.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A database of journals published by the American Psychological Association and Canadian Psychological Association.

Science & Health Databases

Science This link opens in a new window
200 full-text science journals, science reference titles, thousands of multimedia records, science glossary, as well as national and state science standards.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Start with the Browse Topics for background information about any health and wellness topic. Find magazine and newspaper articles and reference book information on topics such as fitness, nutrition, disease and illness, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs and so much more.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals including dental, radiography, physical therapy, pharmacy technology, and other allied health fields.

Pro/Con & Current Event Databases

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, newspaper and magazines articles on social issues.
News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, including the New York Times, dated from 1980.

Legal Databases

Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window
This database is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Legal Trac This link opens in a new window
Find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. Included are articles on federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation. Also included are British Commonwealth, European Union, and International Law

Background & Encyclopedia Articles

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Center. Find articles in encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to search for background information on any topic.

Student Instruction Form

Search & Destroy

Step 1: Brainstorm Search Terms

Step 2: Browse Topic in Academic Search Complete

Use the Academic Search Complete advanced search to break your search into keywords and concepts such as "emerging adult" and "psychology."

Practice click restraint. Browse your topic by scanning titles and subject terms in the results for additional keywords to add to your list.

Change your search terms and see how your results change. Highlight the most useful terms on your worksheet!

Step 3: Find Articles

Once you've refined your search terms, find the most relevant articles by narrowing your database results by type of article, date, full-text, and more.

You can also try searching in a subject-specific database. Some recommendations are listed below, or you can view the full list of databases by subject using the link below.

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Science & Health Databases

Pro/Con & Current Event Databases

Legal Databases

Background & Encyclopedia Articles

Choosing Keywords

Citing Sources