Skip to Main Content

Biology

This research guide is a resource for students studying biology at WCC

Biology Research

Female northern cardinal bird

In this guide you will find:

Background information
Articles - how to find journal articles
What makes a source credible
Literature reviews
Books - how to find books and e-books
Additional information

Female Cardinal Image License: CC0 Public Domain

Library Research Instruction Student Registration Form

Background Information

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Center. Find articles in encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to search for background information on any topic.

Ecology
Ecology. (2011). In D. S. Blanchfield (Ed.), Environmental Encyclopedia. Gale, 2011. Gale In Context: Science.
Evolution
Andrew, S. (2014). Evolution. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (5th ed.). Gale, 2014. Gale In Context: Science.
Human Body - Anatomy
From Science in Context

Encyclopedias

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction
MacLeod, N., Archibald, J. D., & Levin, P. S. (Eds.). (2013). Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction. Gale.
Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection.
The Study of Science. Human Evolution.
Huddle, R. (Ed.). (2017). The Study of Science. Human Evolution. Britannica Educational Publishing with Rosen Educational Services.
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection.

Science News