Legal Information - BMG 111 - Business Law - Research Guides at Washtenaw Community College

Legal Forms, Articles, Codes

Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window
This database is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

Nolo Legal Encyclopedia
Thousands of free articles on everyday legal topics. Our articles are accurate, up to date, and written in plain English.

Small Business Source This link opens in a new window
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

American Law Association - Business Law Section
Search the Business Law Content Library for news, reports, and information about business law and legislation.
Law Library of Congress Research Guides
Research guides provide a starting point for researching legal topics and recommend relevant materials in the Law Library's collections and online. The Law Library creates research guides that range from animal and landlord-tenant law to instructions for compiling a federal legislative history.
Law.com Dictionary
The People's Law Dictionary by Gerald and Kathleen Hill - Search Legal Terms and Definitions
Legal Information Institute
A wealth of information from a Cornell University nonprofit "that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost."
Wex - Free Legal Dictionary from Cornell
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

LARA - Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Find resources on workers comp, construction codes, professional licensing, liquor control, and more.
Brief Description of all Liquor Licenses in Michigan
Michigan License Search
To find out if your new venture could require a state license, use this license search tool to see if you need a license or permit.
Michigan Compiled Laws
Local Laws Municode Michigan
Listed alphabetically by city. Codes can be searched through its table of contents or by the search bar at the top.
Michigan Courts
Search for Cases, Opinions, and Orders
Michigan Legal Help
SBA Ten Steps tp Starting Your Business