Web Searching and Web Evaluation

Google Scholar aims to index scholarly literature found in articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and much more.  Copyright laws prevent Google Scholar from providing the full text of the information you locate.  Only when publishers provide permission to link to the full text or the sources are produced as an open source electronic format, will the full text be included.  Google Scholar does offer a feature to link the information found in Google Scholar back to a researcher's library.  WCC Bailey library is participating in Google Scholar Library links.

Use Google Scholar to

• Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place              
• Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications              
• Locate the complete document through your library or on the web              
• Keep up with recent developments in any area of research              
• Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile

Use the My Citations feature available in Google Scholar to:

• Track citations to your publications
• View publications by colleagues
• Appear in Google Scholar search results

Locating the full text of an article

Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles. If you only retrieve an abstract, try to find the full text using the WCC library:

1. click a library link, it may redirect you to WCC library
2. click a link labeled [PDF] to the right of the search result;
3. click "All versions" under the search result and check out the alternative sources;
4. click "Related articles" or "Cited by" under the search result to explore similar articles.

You may need to do your search from a WCC computer on campus to view the "Full Text through Linksource" , or to configure your browser to use a library proxy.

Remember, if you are directed to buy the article from the Publisher, check with the WCC Library first to see if the Library has the journal.   You can use the online chat service Research Help Now for help.