Skip to main content

Culinary Arts

Use this guide to find print and electronic resources in the Culinary Arts at the Bailey Library.

Using the databases to find articles

These databases will retrieve articles on more specific aspects of subjects  such as food in a specific country, cooking methods, techniques, advances in the culinary arts. You will also find restaurant/bar reviews and articles on industry trends.

These are only two of the nearly 40 databases available to from the WCC Bailey Library.Select from the databases from the A to Z list on the Find e-articles and e-books link on the library homepage.

Find Databases

Print Journals and Magazine

The Bailey Library subscribes to many print magazine and journals in food and gastronomy, and restaurant and hospitality management:

  • Bon Appetit
  • Cooks Illustrated
  • Cornell Hospitality Quarterly
  • Fine Cooking
  • Food & Wine
  • Hotel Management
  • Nutrition Today
  • Prevention
  • Restaurant Business
  • Restaurant Hospitality
  • Saveur
  • Vegetarian Times

General Reference Center Gold

There are two efficient ways to search this database for articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.

  1. Do a subject search on a topic such as cheese and then limit it by subheadings such as forecast and trends, health aspects, economic aspects, etc. The first search will display magazine articles. Use the links for academic journals and newspaper articles under content types. Click on the full text to get your articles.
  2. Do an advanced search using subject cheese and on the next line artisan as a keyword and you will get magazines articles first. Use the links to journals, news, etc. under content types to retrieve articles from those types of sources.

Business Insights

To search for the North American Industry Classification Code NAICS,  you can enter the industry name such as bread in the search box.

Click search

Click on Commerical Bakeries.

You will get the NAICS code as well as key information and number of companies.

This is followed by overview essays.

Using the Company Finder you can build a list of companies by country, state, city, NAICS SIC codes, revenue, and number of employees.

Culinary Arts Collection

Find full text articles in magazines and reference books in the Culinary Arts and Hospitality arenas.

Use the subject search box and enter a term such as truffles.  Use the subdivisions to limit your topic.

Use the advanced search to search by author, keyword, subject, or document title.

Use the publication search to search within periodical titles such as Art Culinaire or Bon Appetit.