Research Guides: Genetics: Get Started

Welcome

"Genetics is the branch of biology that deals with heredity, especially the mechanisms of hereditary transmission and the variation of inherited characteristics among similar or related organisms." American Heritage College Dictionary 3rd. Edition

Genomics is "The study of all of the nucleotide sequences, including structural genes, regulatory sequences, and noncoding DNA segments, in the chromosomes of an organism. " Stedman's Medical Dictionary 2002

Genetics Basics

Introduction to Molecular Biology Information Resources
Provides an introduction to four domains of information generated by the field of molecular biology.
PlantGDP
Resources for comparing plant genomics

Use the batch BLAST tool at PlantGDB
Identify colinear regions in two or more genomes.
ENCODE Project
"The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) launched a public research consortium named ENCODE, the Encyclopedia Of DNA Elements, in September 2003, to carry out a project to identify all functional elements in the human genome sequence."

Chromosome Fact Sheet

Fact Sheet from the National Human Genome Research Institute

Chromosome Fact Sheet

Sequence Databases/Tools

BLAST
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) BLAST (from NCBI) BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences
European Nucleotide Archive
The European Nucleotide Archive (ENA) provides a comprehensive record of the world's nucleotide sequencing information, covering raw sequencing data, sequence assembly information and functional annotation
ENCODE Project
"The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) launched a public research consortium named ENCODE, the Encyclopedia Of DNA Elements, in September 2003, to carry out a project to identify all functional elements in the human genome sequence."
GenBank
GenBank® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequence

More Genetics Basics

Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health from the Naitonal Library of Medicine.
HapMap
"The International HapMap Project is a partnership of scientists and funding agencies from Canada, China, Japan, Nigeria, the United Kingdom and the United States to develop a public resource that will help researchers find genes associated with human disease and response to pharmaceuticals"
Learn Genetics
University of Utah Genetic Science Learning Center
Understanding Genetics
- from the Stanford School of Medicine's Tech Museum. Includes online exhibits, Ask a Geneticist, and Ethics and Issues pages