Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 150: Monuments and Cultures

Citing a Specific Source

 

Places to Get Help

In addition to Bailey Library, the WCC Writing Center located in LA 355 can help you with citations. The phone number is (734) 973-3647, and its hours are on its website.

Check out the Writing Center's helpful online handouts on MLA and APA styles. The writing center also offers a handout about avoiding plagiarism.


MLA Style Citations

Subjects in the humanities, like English and art, use MLA style for citations. Your instructor will tell you which citation style to use. If you are unsure, ask your instructor what the requirement is.

 

Tutorial

 

Key Resources:

Citation Tools

Option 1: Use a Citation Generator

With a citation generator, you to enter information about your source in order to produce a citation in your selected format that you can copy and paste into your paper. 

Pro Tip: Make sure to double-check your citations at the Purdue Online Writing Lab.


Here are a few citation generators to check out:

Citation Machine

  • Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA and APA styles
  • Option to look up your reference for APA and MLA styles
  • Create an account to save your citations and create folders for different projects

EasyBib

  • Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA and APA styles
  • Look up your reference  by URL, title, or ISBN, then it automatically converts to a citation and bibliographic reference.
  • Create an account to save your citations and create folders for different projects

KnightCite

  • Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA and APA styles
  • Create an account to save your citations and create folders for different projects

 


Option 2: Database Citation Tools

 

Many research databases contain built-in citation tools that will generate entire for your reference list or bibliography. Look for a "Cite" or "Citation Tools" button to get the citation for the article you are using. These tools are usually located along the right or left side of the article page within the database.

 

Above: Example of how citation tools appear in different databases.