Research Guides: Film Studies: Finding Articles

Getting Started

This guide is for students who are taking film courses or are interested in learning more about film.

Databases

These databases should be helpful in finding articles relevant to film studies.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Biography This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information on more than 650,000 people from throughout history.
Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
The database provides articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Smart Search

You can also use Smart Search to find peer-reviewed / scholarly articles and eBooks. Use the box below or use the Smart Search box on the library's homepage.

1. Enter your search terms into the box below and click "Search."
2. Start with a broad search such as "film".
3. Click "Advanced Search" at the top of your results page to add more terms and narrow your search.

For example, you could add "Ingmar Bergman" in the second search box below the first box to narrow the topic.

Smart Search