This guide exists to help you explore graphic design concepts, techniques, and trends. It is full of resources to train, inspire, and inform your creative endeavors. Have fun - and discover something new!
This art research database provides full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
An independent film about typography, graphic design and global visual culture. Helvetica looks at the proliferation of one typeface (which celebrated its 50th birthday in 2007) as part of a larger conversation about the way type affects our lives. An exploration of urban spaces in major cities and the type that inhabits them, this film offers a fluid discussion with renowned designers about their work, the creative process, and the choices and aesthetics behind their use of type.
Six ten-minute programs focus on some of the icons of twentieth-century design, analyzing their conception and considering their impact: the Coca-Cola Bottle, Gerrit Rietveld's Red and Blue Chair, the London Transport Underground Map, the Volkswagen Beetle, Tapio Wirkkala's Composition cutlery, and the Swatch.
The AIGA archives and special collections serve to identify, preserve, and make collections of enduring value available to the public. With more than 20,000 selections dating back to 1924, the AIGA Design Archives is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.
Medals have been awarded since 1920 to individuals who have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design. Search here for the recipients and their biographical profiles.
This collection presents over 3,300 items relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.