Search this source for information about horror films and movies.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Leslie A. Shepard; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)More than 300 new entries cover recent phenomena, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations and publications in this updated work. Prominent individuals and personalities in the field are covered, and entries on particular countries trace the development of occultism and parapsychology in each. In certain controversial areas, the case both for and against has been indicated, with sources noted for further study. New features include an Internet resource index and a general bibliography. General and topical indexes are included to aid quick research.
Call Number: Reference BF1407 .E52 2001 V.1 & 2
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith GrantThis reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
Encyclopedia of the Zombie by June Michele Pulliam (Editor); Anthony J. Fonseca (Editor)A fascinating read for anyone from general readers to hardcore fans and scholars, this encyclopedia covers virtually every aspect of the zombie as cultural phenomenon, including film, literature, folklore, music, video games, and events. * Provides comprehensive coverage of topics about or relating to zombies in film, literature, folklore, and popular culture * Features work from contributors who are dedicated scholars, authors, or fans in the zombie genre of work * Supplies dates with all names and works to give readers a sense of the historical context and evolution of zombie lore * Includes concept entries-for example, comedy, free will, and weapons-that place works in a logical, thematic context