Skip to Main Content

ENG 240 & 242: Children's Literature

Where can I find Children's Books?

Fiction and non-fiction books for children of all ages are located in the Bailey Library Youth Literature Collection.

The collection is located to the right as you enter the library, near the copy machines.

ENG 240 Children's Literature Book Lists by Topic
List includes links to digital access where available.
ENG 242 Diverse Children's Literature Book Lists by Topic
List includes links to digital access where available.

Search for Books @ Bailey Library

Use the search box below to search for children's books in the Bailey Library.

Add specific terms like "picture books" or "young adult" to help limit your search.
Click "Location" in the filter menu and select "Youth Literature" to limit your search to physical books.
Nonfiction children's literature is also found in the Youth Literature Collection, arranged by subject.

Wordless Picture Books
Browse wordless picture books available in the Bailey Library.

Children's eBooks

Access eBooks from home using your WCC Net ID and Password.

eBook K-8 Collection
E-book titles in a variety of subjects and topics for elementary and middle school level. Add "juvenile fiction" and subjects such as "disability," "families," etc. to limit your search to fiction on a specific topic.
Gateway to the Classics
Historical children's books now in the Public Domain - includes full text books with illustrations.
Discovering Children's Books
A free online resource from the British Library that explores centuries of stories, poems and illustrations, including material from medieval fables to contemporary picture books.

Local Public Libraries

Find books in print and online through your local public library with a public library card.

Browsing Youth Fiction

Browse the youth collection by level to find books written for specific age groups:

BBK = Board Books
CHL = Picture Books
MG = Middle Grade Books
YA = Young Adult Books

Youth Nonfiction can also be found in the Youth Collection, arranged by subject.

Wordless Picture Books
Browse wordless picture books available in the Bailey Library Children's collection.

Find Books by Age, Ethnicity, Setting, Genre, and More.

DAWCL: Database of Award Winning Children's Literature

Use this database to find books with specific topics or features:

A book for 5 year olds set in colonial America?
A book about Hispanic children with a female protagonist?
A book about a child dealing with a mother's death?

You choose!! Then use WCC's catalog or the Children's Literature Quick Search on this page to see if we own the book.

NoveList K-8 Plus
Created especially for children and the adults who work with them, NoveList K-8 Plus is an online database of reading recommendations which encourages reader success.

Books about Children's Literature

Using Literature to Support Children's Mental Health

Enduring Questions: Using Jewish Children's Literature in Classrooms

Coloring into Existence: Queer of Color Worldmaking in Children's Literature

Deepening Student Engagement with Diverse Picturebooks

Religious Diversity and Children's Literature Book Cover

Religious Diversity and Children's Literature: strategies and resources

The ABC of It : why children's books matter

Beasts at Bedtime : revealing the environmental wisdom in children's literature

Children's Picturebooks : the art of visual storytelling

Was the Cat in the Hat Black? : the hidden racism of children's literature, and the need for diverse books

Who Writes for Black Children? : African American children's literature before 1900

There's a Mystery There: the primal vision of Maurice Sendak

Re-enchanted : the rise of children's fantasy literature in the twentieth-century

A History of Children's Books in 100 Books

The Bloomsbury Introduction to Children's and Young Adult Literature

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2025 10:29 AM
URL: https://libguides.wccnet.edu/kid_lit
Print Page

Subjects: English/Writing

Tags: authors, book awards, children's literature, kids' books, picture books