Research Guides: Military Science & History: Find Articles

What Should I Write About?

Example research topic ideas:

Use the Advanced Search to break your search into concepts such as "national security" AND "military operations."
Practice click restraint. Scan titles and subject terms for additional keywords.
Change your search terms and see how your results change. Write down the most useful terms!

Military And Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.
US History In Context This link opens in a new window
provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, and much more.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, this full-text database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
US History Collection This link opens in a new window
The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines about world history.

United States Department of Defense
The official web site for the Department of Defense and the starting point for finding U.S. military information online.
CIA World Factbook
The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
CIA Library
The CIA releases millions of pages of documents each year and frequently releases items of public interest on this website. The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps.
DSCU Green Book
The basic textbook employed by the Defense Security Cooperation University (DSCU) for instruction covering the full range of security assistance activities. The text is revised annually and commonly referred to as the "Green Book" as it is bound in a green cover.
Mapping Militant Organizations
This research project traces the evolution of militant organizations and the interactions that develop between them over time. A joint venture between the National Science Foundation and the Department of Defense

U.S. Army Center of Military History
E-books, photographs, artwork, unit history, the Army Lineage Series, and more.
Uniform Code of Military Justice Legislative History
This site provides a comprehensive legislative history of one of the principal documents of military law, the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ)
The Library of Congress Military History
Browse through this digitized collection of photographs, diaries, letters, artifacts, maps, and more from the American Revolution through the Iraq War.