This is the "Basic Citation Information" page of the "Cite Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cite Sources   Tags: references, research, works cited, writing  

Last Updated: May 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wccnet.edu/cite Print Guide RSS Updates

Basic Citation Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME

Welcome to WCC's libguide on citing sources.  Here you'll find general information about citing sources in both MLA and APA formats.

 

Featured Resources

          

 

 

What Style Should You Use?

Your instructor will usually specify the citation style required for your paper or project. Always check with him or her about any specific questions regarding expectations and requirements. Some general guidelines, though:

MLA style - typically used in the Humanities (e.g., English)

APA style - used for Social Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology)

 

 

Printable Citation Guides

Use the links below to see examples of source citations chosen by WCC's librarians and WCC's Writing Center instructors.  If these examples don't help you, remember to verify the accuracy of your citations by using the official style manuals.

 

MLA and APA Style Manuals

For citing sources, MLA and APA are the two most common documentation styles required by WCC instructors. The rules for these styles are provided in the manuals listed below. They can be found in print in the library's reference collection; and there are copies in the general collection that you can check out. 

These style manuals are considered the authorities for citation and formatting rules.

 

 

Citation Generators

Citation generators are online tools that create your citations for you.  You just type in titles, authors, etc. and the citation is generated. 

Just remember: GARBAGE In, GARBAGE Out.  KnightCite does not correct your capitalization or spelling.

The WCC librarians recommend KnightCite as the easiest and most reliable of the free citation generators.  Try it!

   

 snip it Knightcite

 

       

 

Citation Help in the Research Databases

Gale databases provide two sources of citation help. For most items, look at the bottom of the record to find the "Source Citation" in MLA style. Or, use the "Citation Tools" option on the right side of the database screen, which also offers APA formatting.

Examples of Gale databases:

  • Academic OneFile
  • General OneFile
  • Health Reference Center Academic

snip it educators complete

 

PsycArticles allows you to mark records and then save or e-mail them to yourself using the citation style of your choice.

 

OmniFile Full Text Select database also provides help with citations. When viewing a full record, click on the "Cite" link (in the right column) to bring up formatted citations in all the major styles.

 

    CINAHL Plus with Full Text database also offers a "Cite" link when viewing full records (see right column).

     

     

     

    Reference Librarian

     

    Further Help with Citations

    Still have questions?  These websites provide extensive examples and help with documenting sources. 

     The OWL at Purdue -- MLA

     The OWL at Purdue -- AP


    Washtenaw Community College - Bailey Library

    4800 East Huron River Dr, Ann Arbor MI 48105-4800
    734-973-3429
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip