Skip to main content

Cite Sources

Use this guide to help you with citing your resources using MLA or APA

MLA Citations for Business

On this page you will find MLA citation examples for key information sources specific to business research. For general website, book, and database article citations, please refer to the Printable MLA Citation Guide in the left-hand column below. 

Annual Reports and SEC Filings

Annual Report or SEC Filing (10-K) from a Company Website:

"The Title of Annual Report or SEC Filing." Name of Website. Publisher or Business Responsible for the
       Website (if different from the website name), year or date of publication, URL, DOI, or permalink. 

"2016 Annual Report." Nike, Inc., 2016, 1.q4cdn.com/806093406/files/doc_financials/2016/ar/index.html

Annual Report or SEC Filing (10-K) from the SEC Edgar Database:

"Title of SEC Filing or Annual Report." Name of Website. Publisher, Date of Publication, URL, DOI,
       or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc. Form 10-K for Fiscal Year Ended May 31, 2016." EDGAR. Securities and Exchange
       Commission, 2016, https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/320187/000032018716000336
       /nke-5312016x10k.htm

Business Insights Global

SWOT Reports:

"The Title of the Report." The Title of the Source. Name of Publisher, Date of Publication. Name of Database, URL or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc. - SWOT Analysis Report." Global Market Direct SWOT Reports. GlobalData, 7 Nov. 2016. 
       Business Insights: Global, callisto.ggsrv.com/imgsrv/FastFetch/UBER1/306325_GDRT31756FSA 

Company Overview:

"Comany Name." The Title of the Source. Name of Publisher, Date of Publication. Name of
        Database, 
URL or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc." Business Insights: Global. Gale - Cengage Learning, n.d. Business Insights:
       Global, 
bi.galegroup.com/global/company/306325?u=lom_washtenawcc

Financials:

"Company Name." The Title of the Source. Name of the Publisher, Date of Publication. Name of
       Database
, URL or permalink

"Nike, Inc. - Financials." Business Insights: Global. Thompson Reuters, n.d. Business Insights:
       Global
, permalink not available.

Company Histories, Industry Reports, Market Share Reports and Related Articles:

Business Insights: Global includes MLA citation information at the bottom of each report, document, or article. You can also click the citation tool button
(upper right-hand side, looks like a sheet of notebook paper, next to "Share" button) to download or export the citation. 

"Company Name or Title of Report or Title of Article." The Title of the Source. Editor Name.
       Volume/Edition. Name of Publisher, Date of Publication. Name of Database, URL or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc." International Directory of Company Histories. Ed. Jay P. Pederson. Vol. 152. St. James
       Press, 2014. Business Insights: Global,bi.galegroup.com/global/article/GALE%CI2501317818/
       0b1552a9575e6148119812306a6de301?u=lom_washtenawcc​

Google Finance

Financial Statements from Google Finance:

"The Title of the Web Page." Name of Website. Publisher or Organization Responsible for the Website
       (if different from the website name), Year or Date of Publication, URL, DOI, or permalink.

"Nike, Inc. Financials, Income Statement - Annual Data." Google Finance. Google, 2016, 
       https://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3ANKE&fstype=ii&ei=r2YrWLHFN4fi2AbB9KCAAw

Industry Code Citations

SIC Code Descriptions:

Government Name. Government Agency. Sub-Agency or Sub-Commitee. "The Title of the Website
       Page." Name of Website. Publisher, Date of Publication, URL, DOI, or permalink.

United States. Department of Labor. Occupational Health and Safety Administration. "Description for
       3021:Rubber and Plastics Footwear." Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search​. 
       
Department of Labor, n.d., osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.display?id=633&tab=description

NAICS Code Descriptions:

Government Name. Government Agency. Sub-Agency or Sub-Commitee. "The Title of the Website
         Page." Name of Website. Publisher, Date of Publication, URL, DOI, or permalink.

United States. Dept. of Commerce. Census Bureau. "2012 NAICS Definition: 316210 
       Footwear Manufacturing." North American Industry Classification. Census Bureau,
       2012, http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/sssd/naics/naicsrch

Information from a Company Website

Last Name, First Name of author or Editor. "The Title of the Web Page."Name of Website. Publisher or Organization Responsible for
         the Website (if different from the website name), year or date of publication, URL, DOI, or permalink. 

"Nike Aims to Minimize Our Environmental Footprint." Nike, 2017, http://about.nike.com/pages/environmental-impact.

NOTE:
When citing information from a company website, you must cite the exact page on which the information was found, not just the company's homepage. Include all available information.

LexisNexis

Company Profile

"Title of Article." Title of Source, Date of Publication. Name of Database, URL or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc. Company Dossier," LexisNexis, n.d. LexisNexis Academicpermalink not available.

Legal Cases

MLA Citation Format:

Case Title. U.S. Reports Citation, Page Numbers, Docket Number. Name of Court, Year of Decision. Name of Database,
        URL or permalink. 

Nike, Inc. v. ADIDAS AG. 812 F.3d 1326. United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, 2016. 
       LexisNexispermalink not available.

Bluebook Legal Citation Format:

Case Title, U.S. Reports Citation, Page Numbers, Docket Number (Name of Court, Year of Decision).

Nike, Inc. v. ADIDAS AG, 812 F.3d 1326 (Fed. Circ. 2016).

SWOT Report

"The Title of the Report." The Title of the Source. Name of Publisher, Date of Publication. Name of Database, URL or permalink. 

"Nike, Inc.Canadean - SWOT Analysis. Progressive Media Group Ltd, 3 Nov. 2016. 
       LexisNexislexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?oc=00240&hnsd=f&hgn=t&lni=
       5HVH-C7C1-DXMY-42CJ&hns=t&perma=true&hv=t&hl=t&csi=3652&secondRedirectIndicator=true