Research Guides: ENG 140 Horror and Science Fiction: Background and Criticism

Background

Background on Topics, Theories, & Works

Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows users to search across these resources to discover and analyze literary content.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
e-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Center. Find articles in encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to search for background information on any topic.

Biographies

Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows users to search across these resources to discover and analyze literary content.
Biography This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information on more than 650,000 people from throughout history.

Historical Context

US History In Context This link opens in a new window
provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Background Books & eBooks

Classic Horror: a historical exploration of literature

Historical Dictionary of Horror Literature

Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction in Literature

Horror Literature Through History

The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction

Horror Fiction in the 20th Century: exploring literature's most chilling genre.

Articles & Literary Criticism

Lenses of Literary Criticism

Through which lens will you analyze your literary work? Literary criticism can focus on a specific literary, philosophical, or psychological perspective. It may take into account specific political, economic, cultural, or historical factors related to the work. Examples of these "Schools of Literary Criticism" include:

Formalist
Historical
Mythological
Gender Studies
Deconstructionist
Post-Colonial
Postmodern
Psychological
Sociological
Reader Response
Cultural Studies
Feminist

Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows users to search across these resources to discover and analyze literary content.

Primo Smart Search Library Resources
Use Smart Search to find information in multiple databases at once. It's like a Google search of the library's resources.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques.