Research Guides: ESL 165: ESL 165 Library Research

ESL 165 Research Handout

Choosing a Topic

Choosing Keywords

Research Databases

The Bailey Library provides online access to credible articles and books through library databases. Using databases saves time and provide access to content that is not available freely on the web.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.
News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, including the New York Times, dated from 1980.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, newspaper and magazines articles on social issues.

Databases by Subject
Find additional databases to search.

Finding Statistics

Data.gov
United States government open data repository.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
ProCon.org
Nonpartisan exploration of the pros and cons of controversial issues.
Finding Federal Data & Statistics Research Guide
Use this guide to explore government and non-governmental data resources.

Citing Sources

Finding Books & Articles - Tutorials and Additional Tips

Check out the following guides for more information on how to find books and articles through the library:

ESL 165

Student Instruction Form

Reference Librarian