Research Guides: NUR 288: Nursing Concepts IV: Research Databases

Precision Searching and Reseach Databases Video

First Steps - Build a Search

Discussion about building a search

Step 1 Identify main concepts

Step 2 List related terms

Step 3 Form search statements

Step 4 Search iteratively -- From the PowerPoint

Review the PowerPoint in Blackboard with Assignment Pre-Reading for additional information.

Research Databases at WCC

Best databases to use for searching for and retrieving peer reviewed articles:

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
An open-access, peer-reviewed e-journal collection providing the content of over 300 journals in science, technology and medicine.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals including dental, radiography, physical therapy, pharmacy technology, and other allied health fields.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Start with the Browse Topics for background information about any health and wellness topic. Find magazine and newspaper articles and reference book information on topics such as fitness, nutrition, disease and illness, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs and so much more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed, magazines, and newspaper articles on all aspects of medicine, allied health, nursing, health and nutrition.
Health Source - Nursing Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Collection includes full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of biomedical and life science journals at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Nursing Clinical Database

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Based on clinical evidence, this is a point-of-care resource for nursing practitioners on medical conditions, diseases, procedures, patient care, FDA, clinical and drug updates.

Information included in Nursing Reference Center Plus

Information about diseases and conditions
Evidence-based care sheets
Content on nursing best practices and skills
Robust drug information
Management topics
Skills videos
CCMC Approved CE Modules

PubMed

PubMed was redesigned in 2019.

PubMed Subject Search
Simple video tutorial
00:01:00 minutes
PubMed for Nurses
Link to PubMed website with many tutorials to complete on your own.
PubMed Simple Subject Search
With PICO discussion
00:03:14 minutes