Research Guides: Anthropology: Anthropology Research

Get Started

This Research Guide provides tips and sources to help you find information for your anthropology research assignments, including:

Smart Search - (on the library homepage) limit results to scholarly articles or books in the library's digital and physical collections.
WCC Research Databases - find peer-reviewed/scholarly articles about the culture you are researching
WCC Reference E-Books - find basic background information on the culture you need to research.
WCC E-Book collections - over 90,000 e-books!
MeLCat and University of Michigan Library Catalogs - access print collections beyond WCC.

e-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Start your research here using a subject specific encyclopedia.

Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society
These volumes offer a one-stop resource for researching the lives, customs, and cultures of Africa's nations and peoples. Arranged by country.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Search the ebrary collection of e-books
e-Book Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search the NetLibrary collection of e-books
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive subscription collection of e-books intended to meet the content needs of students in their research, special projects, and quests.

MeLCat
Borrow books from over 400 libraries in Michigan. Books are delivered to the WCC Library up your request from the other libraries.
University of Michigan Libraries
University of Michigan and WCC students, faculty and staff are eligible for guest borrowing privileges at the other institution. To qualify, you must be a currently enrolled student or current staff member in good standing at the library. Stop in to fill-out the Library Request Form before you go.

Email Me

Contact:

Bailey Library - Room 124 mledermann@wccnet.edu

Subjects: Academic Skills, Anthropology, Art, English/Writing, History, Humanities, Political Science