Research Guides: Anthropology: Find Articles

Smart Search

Use Smart Search to find peer-reviewed / scholarly articles and eBooks in the field of anthropology. You can use the box below or use the Smart Search box on the library's homepage.

1. Enter your search terms into the box below and click "Search."
2. Start with a broad search such as Kikuyu.
3. Click "Advanced Search" at the top of your results page to add more terms and narrow your search.

For example, you could add "Kikuyu OR Gikuyu" in the first search box to search for both spellings of the group at once, and "marriage" in the second search box below the first box to narrow the topic.

Smart Search

Anthropology Journals

American Anthropologist
American Journal of Biological Anthropology
Formerly American Journal of Physical Anthropology
Current Anthropology
Journal of Forensic Sciences
List of Anthropology Journals available through the WCC research databases
Login using your WCC Net ID and Password.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Human Relations Area Files (e-HRAF) are an organized collection of thousands of full text sources on almost 400 cultures worldwide. Use it to find background information on an ethic group or specific subjects like kinship, political structure, ideas about gender, diet, religion, and more.

eHRAF Quick Start Guide
Learn how to search the eHRAF database, plus tips and tricks to make your searches even more effective.

WCC Anthropology Databases

Smart Search
Use Smart Search to to find articles and eBooks in the field of anthropology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Spanning many academic disciplines, this database covers all subject areas.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
African American Experience contains reference books, monographs, primary documents such as manuscripts, court cases, speeches and statistics, as well as photographic images, maps and audio clips of interviews with former slaves.
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
This database is the most extensive research database of full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is an essential tool for researchers and students, providing content pertaining to central and eastern European countries.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Informe Academico This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of primary and secondary information sources, as well as images and vetted websites, on the Latino history and culture in the U.S.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles on all subjects from 1994 to the present.
World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean Regional Portal Subscription This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.

Research Databases by Subject