Research Guides: Physical Therapist Assistant: Prescription Drug Information

Prescription Drug Information Database

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
This database consists of two components: Micromedex Heathcare Series and CareNotes System. The former contains clinical information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. The latter provides patient education documents about all aspects of patient care and health. Now with access to "The Red Book." The database is only meant to be used for academic purposes in educational programs; it is not intended to provide medical or clinical advice to individuals.

UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug is a referential drug solution for health professionals. Deliver the best possible care to your patients with personal drug decision support from UpToDate® Lexidrug™ (formerly ®) and make safe, evidence-based medication and therapeutic decisions.

Drug information Portal
DrugPortal is moving to PubChem in December 2022.
Please see the NLM Technical Bulletin article for more information.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Wealth for information on prescription drugs, drug safety, drug programs, news and announcements of new drugs, recalls & alerts, and much more.

Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
The publication Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (commonly known as the Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.

Purple Book
The Purple Book database contains information on all FDA-licensed (approved) biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products.

The Purple Book also contains information about all FDA-licensed allergenic, cellular and gene therapy, hematologic, and vaccine products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).

DailyMed
"DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs.
Drug labeling on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read."

Natural Medicines
Formerly Natural Standards and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. This is subscription based.

ISMP
"The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), based in suburban Philadelphia, is the nation’s only 501c (3) nonprofit organization devoted entirely to medication error prevention and safe medication use. "