Research Guides: Media and Information Literacy: Informational Websites

AUTHORITATIVE INFORMATION

Indexed and Archived Documents

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Operated by the Bielefeld University Library in Germany, this voluminous search engine allows users to search over 100 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. Users can access the full texts of about 60 percent of the indexed documents (open access).
DocumentCloud
A catalog of primary source documents and a tool for annotating, organizing, and publishing them on the web. Documents are contributed by journalists, researchers, and archivists worldwide. Users can analyze occurrence of particular words in a document and view dates on a time line. Researchers can even see the journalist’s notes. Powered by investigative reporters and editors.

Historical

Library of Congress
Prints and photographs
Library of Congress
Map collection
Library of Michigan
Historical Research Collecitons
Library of Michigan - Michigan Materials
The Michigan Materials area includes links to County Guides, Historical Research Collections, Michigan Imprints from 1851-1876, Michigan Bibliographies and Michigan Digital Collections.
Library of Michigan - Michigan Newspapers
he Newspapers area includes links to the Library of Michigan’s holdings, other newspaper resources and links to Michigan newspapers, and an alphabetical listing of newspaper family histories.
Making of Ann Arbor
The Making of Ann Arbor is a public website on the history and development of the Ann Arbor Community, created in collaboration with the Ann Arbor District Library, the Bentley Historical Library, and the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Services.
Seeking Michigan
Seeking Michigan is the online platform for the Michigan Historical Center. It includes Archives of Michigan research guides and indexes, a blog, and educator resources.
Smithsonian Center for Folklife & Cultural Heritage
Culture of, by, and for the people.
US National Archives
Explore our nation's history through photos, documents and records.

U.S. Government and Legislation

Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, is Congress’s think tank, researching and compiling nonpartisan reports on a governmental issues. This site, with bipartisan support, make these reports available to the public. Updated regularly.
GODORT of Michigan - Government Documents
Notable State and Federal (and sometimes international) government publications.
more...less...
October 2018 wiki includes:
How radicalization to terrorism occurs in the United States: what research sponsored by the National Institute of Justice tells us.
State of the Strait Urban Bird Summit: Status, Trends, and Risks to Species that Call the Corridor Home. [Huron-Erie Corridor]
Michigan DEQ Drug Takeback Map.
Nomination of Hon. Nimrata "Nikki" Haley, of South Carolina, to be U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations.
Fast food consumption among adults in the United States, 2013-2016.
Recent violent crime trends in the United States.
[Federal] Statute Compilations.
GovTrack
Allows users to search for and track legislation being debated in the U.S. Congress. They can an set up alerts for particular bills and pieces of legislation as well as follow individual Congress members’ work on bills and resolutions, voting records, and committee work.
Library of Michigan - Government Resources
There is a Michigan Documents area, a Michigan Local Documents area, and a Federal Documents area.
Library of Michigan - Law Library
Here users will find connections to Directories, Research Databases (including Governing Michigan), Research Guides, Statutes, Regulations and Decisions and contact information for the Law Library. Trending legal cases can be found in the "Top Information Links" area and include updates on gerrymandering, medical marijuana, and the 2018 Michigan ballot proposals.