Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature Collection

Use this guide to find children's books in the Bailey Library.

Where can I find Children's Books?

Bailey Library Children's Literature Collection PhotoFiction and non-fiction books for children of all ages are located in the Bailey Library Children's Literature Collection.

The collection is located to the right as you enter the library, near the copy machines. 

Students and faculty can also access the eBook K-8 Collection for digital content below or place materials on hold for pick up in the library.

Children's eBooks

Access eBooks from home using your WCC Net ID and Password. 

Browsing Children's Literature

Browsing the children's literature collection is a delight. Use these Library of Congress Classification numbers to guide you:

  • PZ 5  short story collections
  • PZ 7  fiction (picture books, chapter books, and young adult titles interfiled alphabetically by author)
  • PZ 8 & PZ 8.1  folk and fairy tales
  • PZ 8.2  fables
  • PZ 8.3  poetry and stories in rhyme (picture books with a rhyming text are here!)

Nonfiction children's literature is also found in the Children's Literature Collection, arranged by subject.  

Find Children's Books in the Library Catalog

In the left-side menu, select children's literature from the drop-down menu and click apply filters.

Click on the title of the book you would like to find in the results list.

Write down the call number to locate the book on the library's shelf.

Find More Books by Author or Subject

If you find a book you really like, use these tips to see if we have more books by the author or additional books on the same subject.

Click on the author, illustrator, or subject heading to find more books by the author, illustrator, or books on that topic

Find Books by Age, Ethnicity, Setting, Genre, and More.

Use this database to find books with specific topics or features:

  • A book for 5 year olds set in colonial America? 
  • A book about Hispanic children with a female protagonist? 
  • A book about a child dealing with a mother's death? 

You choose!! Then use WCC's catalog or the Children's Literature Quick Search on this page to see if we own the book.

More Children's Literature Guides

TALK Program - Text and Learn for Kindergarten

A service developed by the Ypsilanti District Library for parents who might not have time or resources to visit a public library for storytimes. It offers at-home activities and ideas to help prepare their child for school success and is available to all Michigan parents with children 5 and under. Sign up to get two activity suggestions by text message each week. Receive notifications about services and programs for families if you live near a participating library.