Nutrition for the Older Adult by
Reorganized and updated with the latest data in the field, the Second Edition of Nutrition for the Older Adult introduces students to the unique nutritional needs of this special population. Designed for the undergraduate, the text covers such important topics as the physiological changes of aging, weight and nutrition problems in older adults, diet and cultural diversity in older adults, macronutrient, mineral, and vitamin requirements for older adults, and much more. With an added emphasis on health promotion, Nutrition for the Older Adult is an essential resource for students in the fields of nutrition, nursing, public health and gerontology. - New full-color design and art program!- Updated content reflects Healthy People 2020, MyPlate for Older Americans, and 2010 Dietary Guidelines- Contains examples with actual patients and nutritional disorders that are seen in the community and clinical settings- Discusses changes that commonly occur naturally with aging, so that it is understood that disease is not a natural consequence of growing old- Presents the diseases that occur often in older adults and includes nutritional elements that may contribute to the problems or are part of the solution to the problems
Nutritional Foundations and Clinical Applications by
Looking at nutrition and nutritional therapy from the nurse's perspective, Nutritional Foundations and Clinical Applications: A Nursing Approach takes a wellness approach based on health promotion and primary prevention. It offers guidelines with a human, personal touch, using first-hand accounts to show how nutrition principles apply to patients in real-world practice. This edition includes new chapters on the effects of stress on nutrient metabolism and on nutrition for neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease. Written by educators Michele Grodner, Sylvia Escott-Stump, and Suzie Dorner, this leading nutrition text promotes healthy diets and shows how nutrition may be used in treating and controlling diseases and disorders. Applying Content Knowledge and Critical Thinking/Clinical Applications case studies help you apply nutrition principles to real-world practice situations. Health Debate and Social Issue boxes explore controversial health issues and emphasize ethical, social, and community concerns, so that you can develop your own opinions. Cultural Considerations boxes highlight health issues and eating patterns related to specific ethnic groups to help you approach, interview, and assess patients from diverse populations. Teaching Tool boxes include strategies for providing nutrition counseling to patients. Personal Perspective boxes offer first-hand accounts of interactions with patients and their families, demonstrating the personal touch for which this book is known. Key terms and a glossary make it easy to learn key vocabulary and concepts. Website listings at the end of every chapter refer you to related sites for additional research and study. NEW! Nutrition for Neuro-Psychiatric Disorders chapter covers neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease and psychiatric disorders such as depression and bipolar disorders. NEW! Nutrition in Metabolic Stress: Burns, Trauma, and Surgery chapter examines the effects of stress on nutrient metabolism and starvation along with severe stress due to surgery and trauma. NEW organization for the clinical chapters includes: 1) Disorder: background and implications, 2) Food and nutrition therapies, 3) Education: Teaching Tool boxes. UPDATED content reflects changes to Healthy People 2020 and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010. UPDATED! The Nursing Approach box analyzes a realistic nutrition case study in terms of the nursing process, demonstrating practical ways nurses can use nutrition in practice and process.
A-Z Guide to Food as Medicine by
Can an apple a day keep the doctor away? The A-Z Guide to Food As Medicineaddresses food folklore by exploring the scientific findings about physiological effects of over 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals. Today, health care providers are fielding more questions from patients on how to help improve their nutritional health, which in turn can help to prevent disease. The guide　is a dictionary-style reference intended for use by health care professionals to quickly and easily access information about the bioactive components in the foods and how diet can be manipulated for health benefits.
Human Nutrition by
COMING SOON: Revised for2015 Dietary Guidelines Human Nutrition: Science for Healthy Living is an interesting, engaging, reliable, and evidence-based introductory textbook with a wide variety of features to promote active learning. A clinical emphasis appeals to all, but is of particular relevance to those studying nutrition, dietetics, or health science professions, including nursing. Real-life and clinical examples, statistics, and evidence from professional sources address current and controversial topics and support the key concepts of the science of nutrition. Human Nutrition provides the framework for students to not just memorize facts, but to truly learn and apply the science of nutrition. The knowledge gained can be applied not only to a future profession, but, just as importantly, to everyday life. Our hope is that readers share the practical advice and key concepts learned in the textbook with family and friends to promote optimal health and wellness.
The Blue Zones Solution by
In this groundbreaking book, Dan Buettner reveals how to transform your health using smart eating and lifestyle habits gleaned from new research on the diets, eating habits, and lifestyle practices of the communities he's identified as "Blue Zones"--those places with the world's longest-lived, and thus healthiest, people, including locations such as Okinawa, Japan; Sardinia, Italy; Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula; Ikaria, Greece; and Loma Linda, California. With the audacious belief that the lifestyles of the world's Blue Zones could be adapted and replicated in towns across North America, Buettner launched the largest preventive health care project in the United States, The Blue Zones City Makeovers, which has impacted the health of millions of Americans since 2009. In The Blue Zones Solution, readers can be inspired by the specific stories of the people, foods, and routines of our healthy elders; understand the role community, family, and naturally healthy habits can play in improving our diet and health; and learn the exact foods--including the 50 superfoods of longevity and dozens of recipes adapted for Western tastes and markets--that offer delicious ways to eat your way to optimum health. Throughout the book are lifestyle recommendations, checklists, and stories to help you create your own personal Blue Zones solution. Readers will learn and apply the 80/20 rule, the plant slant diet, social aspects of eating that lead to weight loss and great health naturally, cultivating your "tribe" of friends and family, and your greater purpose as part of your daily routine. Filled with moving personal stories, delicious recipes, checklists, and useful tips that will transform any home into a miniature blue zone, The Blue Zones Solution is the ultimate blueprint for a healthy, happy life.
Dietetic and Nutrition Case Studies by
The ideal companion resource to 'Manual of Dietetic Practice', this book takes a problem-based learning approach to dietetics and nutrition with cases written and peer reviewed by registered dietitians, drawing on their own experiences and specialist knowledge Each case study follows the Process for Nutrition and Dietetic Practice published by the British Dietetic Association in 2012 Includes case studies in public health, an increasingly important area of practice
Human Nutrition by
Human Nutrition: Healthy Options for Life provides all the essentials information students need regarding foods and nutrients, and how the body uses nutrients in relation to both health and chronic diseases. The authors provide a unique focus on the linkages between nutrients deficits and/or excesses and personal health. It helps students fully understand epidemiology, with a clear focus on the concept of the multiple risk factors involved in diseases, such as diet, heredity, and lifestyle factors.Human Nutrition: Healthy Options for Life empowers students to become more sophisticated in their own nutritional health behavior and guides them in determining appropriate serving sizes and food choices that promote health and prevent diet-related diseases.Key Features: - Student activities serve as self-tests for students who wish to expand their knowledge and understaning of nutrition. - A robust pedagogy includes chapter outlines and summaries, focus boxes, important quotes, students questions, and key word definitions, to help students better understand and retain key material. - Reviews all major nutrients including sources of energy, protein, and micronutrients. - Provides a strong emphasis on the contributions of nutrients in overall health and disease prevention. - Incorporates a review of the general nutritional recommendations and guidelines endorsed by the American Dietetics Association (ADA). - Emphasizes science-based information on the diverse nutrients and phytochemicals, an overview of lifecycle nutrition, focus on body weight and obesity, an explanation of linkages between nutritional intake patterns and the common chronic diseases, and important metabolic pathways and molecular structures.
Eating Well, Living Better by
Everyone loves to eat. And everyone wants to be healthy. But how do we navigate between today's extremes--between those offering us gastronomic gluttony and the siren song of convenient junk food and those preaching salvation only through deprivation and boring food choices? Dr. Michael Fenster draws upon his expertise and training as an interventional cardiologist and as a chef to forge a path through this wilderness to offer readers a middle path that endorses both fine dining and health eating. As a chef and foodie, and someone who has battled the bulge himself, he knows that if the food doesn't taste great, no one will sustain any program for a lifetime. Here, Dr. Mike introduces the idea of becoming a Grassroots Gourmet. Being a Grassroots Gourmet is all about using fresh, wholesome ingredients, from local sources when you can get them. It is about the judicious use of salt, sugars, and fat to create wonderfully appealing and tasty, restaurant-worthy dishes. You do not need to be a trained chef; a few simple techniques, described here, go along way. As a physician, chef, and martial arts expert, Fenster combines knowledge from all three fields to present a cooking and dining program that recognizes our desire to eat great food without gaining weight and without sacrificing our health along the way. Revealing the latest data on previously forbidden foods like red meat and foie gras, Dr. Mike describes why these can be delicious AND healthy choices. He guides the reader step by step through a philosophy of eating and living that is sustainable and enjoyable once the commitment is made, and offers original, kitchen-tested recipes, and information about various food choices. Recipes include: -Oven Roasted Mushroom Stuffed Quail with Blueberry Chimichuri -Chicken Yakitori -Saffron Risotto with Mushrooms, Peas, and Pearl Onions -French Omelet with Truffle Butter and Brie -Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage Brown Butter -Porcini Mushroom and Artichoke Heart Ragu -Grilled Pork Loin Margarita -Blood Orange Curry Sauce
The Mediterranean Diet by
Recent large-scale epidemiological studies have confirmed the pre-eminence of the Mediterranean diet for reducing the risk of primary and secondary heart disease and cancer. There is also increasingly convincing evidence for its protective value against diabetes, dementias and other age-related disorders, and for increasing overall longevity. The Mediterranean Diet: Health and Science is a timely, authoritative and accessible account of the Mediterranean diet for nutritionists and dieticians. It discusses the Mediterranean diet in the light of recent developments in nutritional biochemistry, disease mechanisms and epidemiological studies, and also provides advice on nutrition policies and interventions. The Mediterranean Diet: Health and Science opens with an overview of the Mediterranean diet, and this is followed by a survey of the latest epidemiological evidence for its health benefits. There is detailed nutritional information on olive oil, wine, fish, fruit and vegetables and other components of the Mediterranean diet, and this information is used to explain how the diet protects against a range of age-related diseases. The book emphasises the importance of understanding the Mediterranean diet in its totality by discussing the evidence for beneficial interactions between various components of the diet. There are also discussions of how agricultural practices, as well as food preparation and cooking techniques, influence the nutritional quality of the diet. The book concludes by discussing the social context in which the Mediterranean diet is eaten, and public health issues associated with adopting a Mediterranean diet, especially in the context of more northerly countries. Written by nutritional biochemist Richard Hoffman and a past President of the French Nutrition Society, Mariette Gerber, who between them have many years experience in this area, this exciting and highly topical boook is an essential purchase for all nutritionists and dietitians worldwide. Libraries in all universities where nutrition, dietetics and food science and technology are studied and taught should have copies of this excellent book on their shelves.