Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to Adding Library Resources in Blackboard

Guide designed for instructors to add direct links to WCC Library electronic resources into Blackboard course site.

Linking to a Research Database

You can link to any of the WCC research databases on Blackboard.

This page will provide you with the options available to you and how to create the link for easy access on and off-campus.

To provide off-campus access to research databases, articles, and   e-books you must pre-append the URL link with  EZproxy address

https://ezproxy.wccnet.edu/login?url=

Link to all research databases

The WCC Bailey library offers over 100 research databases that index newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals for student research. The research databases are accessible from off-campus by login with WCC NetID and password. Students have access to the databases anytime anywhere.

There are many options available for linking the research databases to Blackboard.

Link to a Specific Research Database

Another option is to embed a link to a specific database into Blackboard.

1. From the list of research databases

2. Select the database you want to link to in Blackboard. 

3. Mouse over the database name, right click and select copy shortcut. 

https://ezproxy.wccnet.edu/login?url=https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/lom_washtenawcc?db=AONE

4. Paste link in Blackbaord

It is important that you copy the ezproxy link to allow access from off campus. If it is not copied, append the Library's proxy address, https://ezproxy.wccnet.edu/login?url=    to the beginning of the database URL

Example of Opposing Viewpoints link

https://ezproxy.wccnet.edu/login?url=https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/lom_washtenawcc?db=OVIC

Blackboard Instructions Step by Step

Attached is a document that will provide you with steps to adding a link to library resources in Blackboard. 

First, decide where you want to add the link?  To an Assignment Tab? To a Unit Tab? To a Reflective Writing / Journal Tab?  To a Library Tab?