Research Guides: Surgical Technology and Sterile Processing: SUR 170 Surgical Pharmacology

SUR 170 Surgical Pharmacology Assignment

Assignment: The student must write a 3-5 page research paper in APA format in Arial font 12 on an illness they have chosen from the class list in Blackboard.

Research:

Provide information about the illness:
1. Define the illness, how it is contracted, what medications may be used in order to help treat the illness, and the how the medication treats the illness along with its side effects (adverse effects)?
If there are other medications that offset those side effects, then you should include:
1. What the medication is, how it offsets a side effect, and if it has its own side effects?
If medications do not work after some time, what is the outcome for the patient?
If it is surgery, which procedure needs to be done.

APA Citations:

You must cite your sources. Follow APA Style for citation reference page and in-text citations. Click on the tab APA Citation on left side for information on citations and how to apply in-text citations within your paper.

Example with Malignant Hyperthermia

Health and Wellness search for Malignant Hyperthermia
Database search results for Malignant Hyperthermia.

Where to Start for Information about an Illness

Good places to start your research about an illness:

Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Start with the Browse Topics for background information about any health and wellness topic. Find magazine and newspaper articles and reference book information on topics such as fitness, nutrition, disease and illness, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs and so much more.
e-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Center. Find articles in encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to search for background information on any topic.
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

MedlinePlus
From the National Library of Medicine
Health Topics A-Z
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Database for Prescription Drug Information

Use Micromedex to search for the medication. You can search by drug, disease and toxicology. It will help you find:

Drug interactions (drug-drug, or drug-supplements or drug-allergies)
Side effects (adverse effects)
Dosage
Drug comparison
Treatment

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
This database consists of two components: Micromedex Heathcare Series and CareNotes System. The former contains clinical information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. The latter provides patient education documents about all aspects of patient care and health.

DailyMed
"DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs.
Drug labeling on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read."