Research Guides: RAD 110 Clinical Education : Religions

Books and E-books

Caring for Arab Patients by Arwa Kayed Abdul-Haq; Tony Lockett; Laeth Nasir
Call Number: RA 563 .A73 C37 2008

ISBN: 9781846191824
Caring for Jewish Patients by Joseph Spitzer
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781315344188

Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Caring for Hindu Patients by Diviash Thakrar; Rasamandala Das; Aziz Sheikh
Call Number: RA 485 .C37 2008

ISBN: 9781857755985
Caring for Muslim Patients by Aziz Sheikh; A. R. Gatrad
Call Number: RA 485 .C25 2008

ISBN: 9781857758122
Cultural Competence in Caring for Muslim Patients by G. Rassool
Call Number: RT86.54 .C83

Publication Date: 2014
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care
Call Number: Ebook

Publication Date: 2014
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care by Larry D. Purnell
Call Number: RA418.5 .T73 P87 2009

ISBN: 9780803620643

Purnell, L. D. (2009). Guide to culturally competent health care (2nd ed.). F.A. Davis Co.
Multifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by Paul Nash; Kusumavarsa Hart (Contribution by); Zamir Hussain; Madeleine Parkes; Keith Munnings (Contribution by); Rakesh Bhatt (Contribution by); Naomi Kalish (Contribution by); Parkash Sohal (Contribution by); Surinder Sidhu (Contribution by); Claire Carson (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781784500726

Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Religions, Culture and Healthcare by Susan Hollins
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781138030954

Publication Date: 2018-10-08

Health professionals provide care to patients of differing religions and cultures, and knowledge of their cultural and religious background, way of life and beliefs and practices is vital to delivering sensitive and responsive care. This revised and updated guide provides practical and comprehensive information on each of the major faiths, providing an accessible reference for appropriate day-to-day care of patients in multicultural societies.
Go to Chapter 4 Religions and Their Faits for information about specific religions and care.

Religions - sources for all religions

Handbook Patients' Spiritual and Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals
Religions: Includes Western Religions, Eastern Religions, and other Religions.
Cultures: Includes major American cultures, African cultures, Caribbean cultures, Middle Eastern / North African cultures, East Indian cultures, East Asian cultures, and Euro-Asian cultures.
Cultural Religious Competence In Clinical Practice
Swihart DL, Yarrarapu SNS, Martin RL. Cultural Religious Competence in Clinical Practice. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2024 Jan-. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK493216/
A Dictionary of Patients’ Spiritual & Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals
Religions: Includes Western Religions, Eastern Religions, and other Religions.
Cultures: Includes major American cultures, African cultures, Caribbean cultures, Middle Eastern / North African cultures, East Indian cultures, East Asian cultures, and Euro-Asian cultures.
Cultural Religious Competence in Clinical Practice
Swihart DL, Yarrarapu SNS, Martin RL.. (na). Cultural Religious Competence In Clinical Practice. StatPearls
Transcultural Nursing - this is a great source for all healthcare professionals
This textbook is the result of faculty and nursing students from Utah Valley University (UVU) in Orem, Utah.
Includes: Latter-Day Saint culture, deaf culture, homeless culture, Jehovah's Witness culture, Catholic culture, Muslim culture, Jewish culture, Ute culture, Shoshone culture, Navajo culture, Korean culture, Chinese culture, Hindu culture, and Ukrainian culture.
Penn Medicine Religious Diversity: Practical Points for Health Care Providers
The lists address select points for the care of patients from Buddhist, Catholic, Hindu, Jehovah's Witness, Jewish, Muslim and Pentecostal traditions.
Health Care and Religious Beliefs
From Alberta Canada Health Services 2nd edition. Religions: Aboriginal faith community, Buddhist faith community, Christian Science faith community, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints faith community, Eastern Orthodox faith community, Hindu faith community, Islamic faith community, Jehovah’s Witness faith community, Jewish faith community, Protestant faith community, Roman Catholic faith community , Seventh-day Adventist faith community, Sikh faith community, and United Church faith community.
Caring Across Cultures and Belief Systems
A Resource Guide for Healthcare Professionals in an Interfaith World. The Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, Buffalo, NY

Jehova's Witness

Statement on Recommendations for Surgeons Caring for Patients Who Are Jehovah’s Witnesses
American College of Surgeons.
Care of the older person: a Jehovah’s Witness perspective
Smith A. (2010). Care of the older person: a Jehovah’s Witness perspective. Nursing & Residential Care, 12(4), 195–196. https://doi-org.ezproxy.wccnet.edu/10.12968/nrec.2010.12.4.47103
Accommodating beliefs during the festivities
Furness, S. (2010). Accommodating beliefs during the festivities. Nursing & Residential Care, 12(12), 601–603.
Jehovah's Witness Beliefs and Practices
Pew Research Center – great information about Jehovah’s Witness in US

Islam - followers are Muslims

Cultural Competence in the Care of Muslim Patients and Their Families
Attum B, Hafiz S, Malik A, et al. Cultural Competence in the Care of Muslim Patients and Their Families. [Updated 2022 Jul 4]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2022 Jan-.
Opening cultural doors: providing culturally sensitive healthcare to Arab American and American Muslim patients
Hammoud, M. M., White, C. B., & Fetters, M. D. (2005). Opening cultural doors: providing culturally sensitive healthcare to Arab American and American Muslim patients. American journal of obstetrics and gynecology, 193(4), 1307–1311. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajog.2005.06.065
The Health of Arab Americans in the United States: An updated comprehensive literature review
Abuelezam, N. N., El-Sayed, A. M., & Galea, S. (2018). The Health of Arab Americans in the United States: An updated comprehensive literature review. Frontiers in public health, 6, 262. https://doi.org/10.3389/fpubh.2018.00262
Guide to Arab Culture: Health Care Delivery to the Arab American Community
Hammad, A., et al. (1999). Guide to Arab Culture: Health care delivery to the Arab American Community. ACCESS Community Health Center, Dearborn, MI.
CINAHL Ultimate Search for Muslims and Health Care
Search results for Muslims and Healthcare in CINAHL Ultimate. The search will be updated as new articles are added.
Providing Culturally Appropriate Care to American Muslims With Cancer
Mataoui, F., & Sheldon, L.K. (2016). Providing culturally appropriate care to American Muslims with cancer. Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing, 1:11-12. DOI:10.1188/16.CJON.11-12
Islamic Beliefs Affecting Health care
From the Australian Government.
Muslim customs surrounding death, bereavement, postmortem examinations, and organ transplants
Gatrad A. R. (1994). Muslim customs surrounding death, bereavement, postmortem examinations, and organ transplants. BMJ (Clinical research ed.), 309(6953), 521–523. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.309.6953.521
Opening cultural doors: Providing culturally sensitive healthcare to Arab American and American Muslim patients
Hammoud, M.M., White, C.B., & Fetters, M.D. (2005). Opening cultural doors: Providing culturally sensitive healthcare to Arab American and American Muslim patients. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 193: 1307-1311. doi:10.1016/j.ajog.2005.06.065
Overview of Health Care in Islamic History and Experience
Nayer, T. (2020, August 14). Overview of health care in Islamic history and experience. Dept. of Spiritual Care, Harborview Medical Center. https://ethnomed.org/resource/overview-of-health-care-in-islamic-history-and-experience/
How to Work with Muslim Clients in a Successful, Culturally Relevant Manner: A National Sample of American Muslims Share Their Perspectives.
Hodge, D. R., Zidan, T., & Husain, A. (2024). How to Work with Muslim Clients in a Successful, Culturally Relevant Manner: A National Sample of American Muslims Share Their Perspectives. Social Work, 69(1), 53–63. https://doi.org/10.1093/sw/swad048

Judaism, Jewish religion

Top Ten Tips Palliative Care Clinicians Should Know About Caring for Jewish Patients
Rosenberg, L. B., Goodlev, E. R., Izen, R. S. E., Gelfand, S. L., Goodlev, C. L., Lanckton, R. B., Skarf, L. M., Wershof Schwartz, A., Jones, C. A., & Tulsky, J. A. (2020). Top Ten Tips Palliative Care Clinicians Should Know About Caring for Jewish Patients. Journal of palliative medicine, 23(12), 1658–1661. https://doi.org/10.1089/jpm.2020.0601
Caring for the Orthodox Jewish Patient on the Sabbath
Rose, A. (1999). Caring for the Orthodox Jewish Patient on the Sabbath. Academic Emergency Medicine, 6(8), 865–866. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1553-2712.1999.tb01226.x

Videos

Think Cultural Health Case Study: Cultural and Religious Beliefs
From Think Cultural Heritage, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.