Open Educational Resources by Subject Disciplines

The Historical Medical Library was established in 1788 and was Philadelphia's central medical library for over 150 years, serving its medical schools, hospitals, physicians and other health professionals. Today, it is an independent library dedicated to the history of medicine and the medical humanities, serving hundreds of scholars, health professionals, students, and popular writers each year.

The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) invites users to explore its comprehensive and continually growing site. This rich, multi-layered, digital collective, initiated in 2009 by the Open Knowledge Commons, provides access to seven centuries of quality medical history resources.

From OpenStax -- 2024 -- Clinical Nursing Skills is designed to equip nursing students with the practical knowledge and hands-on skills necessary to provide comprehensive patient care. The material emphasizes the application of clinical judgment in a variety of settings, ensuring that students are prepared to deliver high-quality care across different patient populations and clinical scenarios.

From VIVA Open Publishing

Instructor Guide
VIVA Open Publishing

From Open Library

Author: Sherri Melrose PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Caroline Park PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Beth Perry PhD, RN, Athabasca University

This publication of the second edition of Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children is another important milestone in the evolving development of pediatric critical care nursing. 2001

From Lumen Learning

OpenStax 2024

From Open Textbook Library

Health Education Course
By: Virgil Bourassa and Fred Mednick

InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.

OpenStax 2024

OpenStax 2024

Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.

From Open RN

Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN) Spring 2023

Wisconsin Technical College System 2023

Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN) summer 2024

Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN) Summer 2024

Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN) August 2023

OpenStax 2024

Many new OER nursing titles 2024

Open Education Resources for Nursing is a project led by Chippewa Valley Technical College
The Open RN project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create 5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.

From OPEN RN 2020

From Skills Commons

By Kathy Andresen, The University of West Florida Pressbooks publication. 2024.

OpenStax 2024

OpenStax 2024

OpenStax 2024

Limited to sterile processing

Brent Burbridge, MD, FRCPC
from University of Saskatchewan

From the University of Arizona 2025

A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions.

MedEdPORTAL Publications is a free publication service provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges in partnership with the American Dental Education Association.

The mission of the U-M Medical School is to educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the State of Michigan and beyond.

Welcome to the MERLOT Health Sciences Portal, an educational resource for teaching and learning. This site includes over 40 different subjects including dentistry, nursing, nutrition, pharmacy and radiology.

Start searching for health sciences at this page.

Locate free information for nursing including activities, audio, video, free course, course, and community.

Lead by the University of Michigan's School of Nursing.

GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide.

From Skills Commons

From MedlinePlus.
"Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more."

Provided by MedlinePlus, "boost your health knowledge by playing with the 35 interactive health games."

Interactive tutorials in the area of nursing. You will find 25 free learning objects that can help you learn, study, or teach Nursing.

OpenRN OER Virtual Reality Scenarios - 2024

OpenRN 2024

Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.

Provides video presentations from 2009 to the present about health and medicine.

A free library of images celebrating women’s lives and their work in 11 countries around the world

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.

You can search the entire collection or search by specific collection.

NIGMS offers scientific images and videos, plus scientist interviews, profiles and photos.

From the US National Library of Medicine

From Open Oregon

Free for commercial and personal use under CC0 License.

The internet’s source of freely-usable images. CC images and provide attribution.

Free plus size images.