Creative Commons

Works with a CC license can be combined as a collection or remixed as an adaptation.

Understanding collections and adaptations can help you make sure your new work includes the correct license and attribution information. 

What changes are not considered adaptations?

• Format-shifting, such as digital to a print copy
• Typo corrections, such as spelling or punctuation
• Adding an image to a body of text 
• Collections (see below)

Collections are individual, unadapted works that are brought together as a unit, but kept clearly distinct from one another - kind of like a TV dinner. 

“CC TV Dinner” by Nate Angell. CC BY. Derivative of “tv dinner 1″ by adrigu used under CC BY, and various Creative Commons license buttons by Creative Commons used under CC BY.

Collection Attribution and License Information:

• Attribution and licensing information for each individual work must be included with the work.
• A collection can include works with any CC license including ND licenses.
• Collection creators may apply a separate CC license to the collection as a whole, but the copyright only applies to creator contributions, such as the order of the content and original material, such as an introduction or afterward.

• Note that each individual essay has its own license and attribution as a separate entity.
• The collection also has a license and attribution for the work as a whole, which covers the selection and order of the essays, plus any additional content added by the editor.

Remixes and adapted or derivative works are more like smoothies. The works included are mixed together to make something new and are no longer separate or distinct.

“CC Smoothie” by Nate Angell. CC BY. Derivative of “Strawberry Smoothie On Glass Jar” by Element5 in the public domain, and various Creative Commons license buttons by Creative Commons used under CC BY.

Adaptation/Remix Attribution and License Information:

• Attribution and licensing for all works used in an adaptation/remix need to be provided. 
• All licenses used in the adapted work must be compatible (see compatibility chart below).
• When remixing content for open textbooks, include attribution for all of the works used in the chapter in the references/endnotes for that chapter.  
• Synching a musical work to a video or moving image is an adaptation even if the music and video are not individually changed. 
• Adapted ShareAlike works must be shared with the same or a compatible license.
• Works with a NoDerivatives license can be adapted, but the adaptation may only be used privately and must not be shared.

Remix Attribution Example:  

“CC Smoothie” by Nate Angell. CC BY. Derivative of “Strawberry Smoothie On Glass Jar” by Element5 in the public domain, and various Creative Commons license buttons by Creative Commons used under CC BY.

This remix attribution contains three parts:

Use this chart to determine which licenses you may choose from for your adaptation of a single work based on the license covering the original work.

CC Adapter’s License Chart by Creative Commons, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Use this chart to determine which licenses are compatible when creating a remix with more than one CC licensed work.

CC License Compatibility Chart is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Follow the link below to access CC licensed presentation slides on reusing CC Licensed works.